The Uncomfortable Truth

Sometimes you happen upon something in the media that makes you sit up and think and occasionally really rocks you to your core……that’s what happened to me today.

For a while now I have been thinking in detail about what I eat, I guess that when you are growing your own food this is to be expected. I have not eaten meat for nearly 25 years, not because I don’t like the taste of it but because of the issues with animal welfare. At the weekend I saw a piece on TV about the slaughter of male calves in the dairy industry and this led me to contemplate  adopting a vegan diet.

Whilst searching for more information about becoming vegan on the internet I came across the documentary “Earthlings”

EARTHLINGS is a powerful and informative documentary about society’s treatment of animals, narrated by Joaquin Phoenix with soundtrack by Moby. This multi-award winning film by Nation Earth is a must-see for anyone who cares about animals or wishes to make the world a better place.”

I wasn’t quite prepared for what followed and although I am quite aware of many of the topics cover in the documentary Earthlings has got to be the most important film I have ever seen. Yes it is shocking, brutal and very, very hard to watch however I firmly believe that every person should watch it, so that they are able to make informed decisions. The film offers footage that most people would rather not see, and rather not contemplate but if you are prepared for an emotional and intellectual challenge then you must watch it.

So am I changing my diet for a vegan one? Watch the documentary, I think that you’ll find the answer to that question there.

You can watch Earthlings online at http://www.earthlings.com/ 

2 thoughts on “The Uncomfortable Truth

  1. Free Your Mind Today says:

    I stopped eating meat 8 years ago after coming across a music video about animal cruelty that was on one of my favorite band’s CDs. I remember just sitting there crying and feeling completely shaken.

    After that I have not eaten meat since, and just recently stopped dairy (as best I could- there seems to be trace amounts of dairy in almost everything!).

    I’m going to start posting vegan recipes every Friday- I have to make the dishes and photograph them first!

    • Mrs Simplicity says:

      It’s interesting to hear why people become vegetarian and what acts as a catalyst for the change. For me it was visiting a deer farm that supplied my parents business when I was a child. I would have been about 13 at the time and my mum said that if when I reached 16 I still felt as strongly about not eating meat then she would support me. Needless to say that I did and I haven’t eaten meat since.

      I think that converting to non dairy will a harder, as you say there seems to be dairy in everything. I’m looking forward to reading your recipes and hopefully trying them out for myself!

Leave a Reply

