One Thing A Day

Buoyed on from my wardrobe declutter and whilst I’m on a roll I have decided as part of my simplifying plan I will get rid of one thing a day. I first read about doing this a while ago on the Unclutterer blog and thought it was a great idea and now is the time to put it into action!

Now one thing a day isn’t much is it? However when you look at it over a week, a month or even a year it adds up to quite alot.

Each day I shall be posting on my Facebook page the item that I have got rid of that day. So if anyone else wants to join me in this challenge I’d love to hear from you.

The rules are simple – Whether you give away, trash or donate the object is immaterial, but it must be gone from your life and space. Putting it into storage doesn’t count; though you are allowed to collect the things in a box to donate them at the end of the month.

Oh, and you’re also allowed to cheat and fill your quota ahead of time, like throwing out 7 things on Monday, making that a week’s worth of items.

So today is day one and if you decide to join me then good luck!

13 thoughts on “One Thing A Day

  1. patinaandcompany says:

    Oh, LOVE this idea! There is an approach that even the too-busy and the chronic pack-rat can manage. So nice and bite-sized. Hmmmm, perhaps I should start with my husband’s stuff?

    I definitely am joining you on this challenge (though not sure I will get to post every item).

    • Mrs Simplicity says:

      Great to hear that you are joining in. I’ve actually suggested to my husband that he joins in starting with the garage – I hate to think what he’s got stashed away in there as anything that I try to throw out somehow ends up in there!

  2. Vonnie says:

    Pretty much threw out everything that wasn’t of much use before I left the UK, but having completed a house build, I know there must be many things lurking around that need to be disposed of. Gonna give this some serious thought.

    • Mrs Simplicity says:

      Hi Vonnie,
      Moving to another country must really push you into deciding what’s important and I really admire what you have done.

      We have quite a lot of building materials lying around but I’ve been told that we can’t get rid of them as they MAY be useful one day. I’m just trying to work out where the 3 fireplaces stashed behind the garage might go????

  3. Tina says:

    Oh dear I would love to be a part of this project . I must say though, I’ve done a major de-cluttering spring cleaning about 2 months ago. But I think one is never free of clutter!!!

Leave a Reply

