My Bucket List

A few months ago I reached my 40th a significant birthday and as a result of this I’ve been thinking more and more about lifetime ambitions. Now I first became aware of the term ‘Bucket List’ when the film of the same name came out in 2007. It stars Jack Nicholson and Morgan Freeman as two terminally ill men who go on a road trip with a list of things to do before they kick the bucket.

So I’ve been thinking about what I would like to achieve and this week have compiled my “Bucket List”

1. Learn to ride a horse.

2. Climb a mountain

3. See my Son grow up to be happy and live the life he wants to.

4. Live by the sea.

5. Create a beautiful garden.

6. Grow old and happy by my Husbands side.

7. Live in a foreign country, even if its just for a few months.

8. Keep ducks.

9. Buy a campervan and tour around the British Isles.

10. Visit the Pyramids in Egypt.

I’m sure that there will be many, many more things added to this list as time goes by and hopefully I will be able to cross a few off. Now its your turn – what’s on your bucket list?

Image: Pinterest

4 thoughts on “My Bucket List

  1. carinaofdevon says:

    Hi Vicky,
    A quick skim read only…but I really like your blog! I see you wrote your bucket list the day after my 39th birthday! So it seems we’re both taking on these big life adventures at this point in life! I just moved onto an old yacht last week with my husband and two young daughters. We too are seeking a simpler life, where we can spend more time together as a family, raise our girls to appreciate the amazing world they live in, and for us all to have lots of fun. Good luck with your plans. As for your bucket list – I’m amazed that I’ve actually done five of your things, and numbers 2 and 6 are dreams of mine too. Now you’ve got me thinking about my own list I probably won’t get any work done for the rest of the afternoon!

    • Mrs Simplicity says:

      Hi there,
      Thank you for your lovely comment, it must be something about the time of life that we are entering – my friends think that I’m having a mid life crisis!
      I have had a quick look at your blog and plan to read it all later as I am quite in awe of what you are doing. Our long term plan is to live-aboard a canal boat once our son is at uni, I shall enjoy reading how you find life on the waves.
      With regards to the bucket list i would thoroughly recommend doing one, it’s quite an interesting way to get your dreams in order – already we’re planning to spend a month in France next summer and I’m climbing Snowdon in a fortnight!

      • carinaofdevon says:

        Good luck with Snowdon! My husband dragged me up there through knee deep snow about four years ago. It wasn’t until we got to the top that he revealed to me that there’s an easier route with a railway! I think the number one thing on my bucket list would be running a marathon. I’m not much of a runner – I struggled to run five miles back five or six years ago when I was actually running regularly. But one day I’ll get myself in shape for a marathon.

  2. Mrs Simplicity says:

    Well done for doing Snowdon, we have picked the middle ground when chosing our route – not the easiest but not Crib Goch!
    I think completing a marathon must be such an achievement, I’m not much of a runner but can see why it appeals. I keep starting to run but have never got beyond that completely out of breath and knackered stage! Actually something that should really go on my “Bucket List” is something else that you have achieved – living on a boat 🙂

Leave a Reply

